Sinead Thesis

Thesis Supervisor Meeting

Posted on: January 26, 2011

I’m just back from my thesis supervisor meeting and I’m extremely happy with the outcome.

We underpinned what purpose my thesis should be about. There are two routes I could go in

  1. The Role of music  as a customer engagement tool
  2. The advantages of music as a customer engagement tool  

When looking at the role of music as a customer engagement tool, I would be suggesting that this is a technique that has been used by many firms. So therefore I would be presenting a paper on what way companies have used music  as customer engagement tool.

When looking at the advantages of music as a customer engagement tool , I believe that this is something that firms need to be aware of as they are not yet using it to its full potential. It’s a new phenomenon. I would prove its advantages and outline a formula in achieving customer engagement trough music. How music is a better technique to create customer engagement.

So there are the two paths I could go down…… I need to do a bit more reasearch but from what i have looked at,  Music in a way has also been there as some sort of engagement tool but now with the rise in social media’s.I feel it is really going to take off. This is why I think I should focus on The advantages of music as a customer engagement tool.

Talking more with my thesis supervisor he said that branding used to be about sales  now today it’s also about customer engagement  due to social media.

possible title: New and more effective ways of creating customer engagement through social media using music

We began brainstorming on the origins of music engagement
Music engagement could be first evident through sub cultures. This dates back to the 50’s and 60’s , Mod rockers and teddy boys. The music had a look that went with it
Music has been accoisated with car advertisements for the past ten years. E.G. the artist Moby would not release his music to the pubic straight away but sell it to advertisers.Then when people hear the ad and the music they would seek to buy it.

As I said music engagement has been out there for some time mostly with sub cultures. Groups of people trying  to create an identity of themselves through music.

What I may want to show is how music engagement is going to go mainstream ……………

3 Responses to "Thesis Supervisor Meeting"

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sinead Rafferty, thesissinead. thesissinead said: https://sineadthesis.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/thesis-supervisor-meeting/ – New post […]

Sounds interesting, Sinead. The role of music… would probably be easier to achieve since it would be quite fact-based and less hypothesising, but the advantage of music… is probably a more useful study and I’d say you’d find it more interesting and beneficial in the long run.

Thanks Rini 🙂 yeah i’m thinking the advantages would be more interesting and fun to do ……… funny enough I can’t wait to get stuck in , which is a good sign

Leave a Reply

Rayan Parikh – 2009

"The approach of using music to connect with viewers on a deep emotional level rather than a rational or congnitive level in advertising fundamentally redefined it as a brand building tool."

Schmitt 1999

"Creating cognitive problem solving experiences that engage customers creativity"

Sounds like branding

